A little more conversation…

‘When the mind is thinking it is talking to itself’ – Plato

I wish I could talk,

Course I can ‘talk’, in the literal sense learning to talk came soon after learning to walk,

But I wish I was versed in the art of good conversation,

an effortless smile here, a quick flick of hair there,

a giggle, a witty retort, an éclat, a proverb.

But alas I stammer, I doubt, I question,

‘does that make sense?’

‘Will they laugh?’

‘Will they see through the pretence?’

I wish I could talk, that’d be my talent, the art of conversation,

Brilliant, witty, urbane, memorable conversation.

Yeah, that would be my talent, to amaze and regale

With words as well as deeds.

Daily Prompt: Talent: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/09/22/daily-prompt-talent/

2 thoughts on “A little more conversation…

  1. Totally get how you feel… there are some times where conversation just flows, with people you’re comfortable with I guess and then there are the other times when you think afterwards… ‘I must have sounded like a complete fool!’ 😉

Leave a Reply

